Actors Birthdays

Remembering Alan Rickman

Alan would have celebrated his 71st birthday today. We tragically lost this great actor(one of my all time favourites)in January last year. I miss him so much. One of the best actors of his generation. His rich, and instantly recognisable voice was a great asset to him. Perfectly at ease playing droll villains, romantic leads, or tragic characters he was always a welcome sight in any film.

I love him the most in the following films: Snow Cake, Sense and Sensibility, Galaxy Quest,The Harry Potter series, Mesmer, Dogma, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, Truly Madly Deeply, Die Hard and The Barchester Chronicles(TV series).

He is an actor who I will always miss, I grew up watching his films and he was someone who was always there. When I first heard that the Potter films were being made, I wished so hard that Alan would be cast as Snape; you cannot begin to imagine how happy I was when I read the news that he had actually joined the cast.

My all time favourite role of his will always be Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility. He is heartbreaking as the gentle, kind and long suffering older love interest of Kate Winslet’s passionate, outgoing Marianne. I wish he had played the romantic lead more often.

R.I.P Alan. All sympathies to his family and friends. Happy Birthday, and thanks for so many wonderful film memories.

 

Leave a Reply

