Musicals, Romance

High Society(1956)What A Swell Party This Is…

photo0043

Bing Crosby, Grace Kelly, Louis Armstrong(and his band), Frank Sinatra, Celeste Holm, Lydia Reed,John Lund,Sidney Blackmer,Margalo Gillmore and Louis Calhern are the stars of this elegant musical.

This musical version of The Philadelphia Story was released in 1956. I saw this version before seeing the Katherine Hepburn one, and although I love the 1940 film; I think that this version will always be my favourite.

Grace Kelly is perfectly cast as the beautiful, icy, society heiress Tracy Lord. Kelly really makes me feel for Tracy in the poolside scene where she says to fiancé George(John Lund),”I don’t want to be worshipped, I want to be loved”.

Bing Crosby is Tracy’s ex husband, Dexter; the man she will always love but whose human shortcomings she could never accept/understand.

Frank Sinatra is tell it like he sees it news reporter, Mike Connor; who along with good friend and tough gal(and obvious right woman for him)Liz Imbrie(Celeste Holm),is covering Tracy’s wedding to George Kitteridge(John Lund). Tracy must choose between George, Dexter and Mike, which of these men does she really love?

Featuring some cracking music and songs, many courtesy of the legendary Armstrong who plays himself as a friend of Dexter’s(Armstrong also serves as the films narrator/guide.) Well Did You Evah?, My Little One and True Love are favourites of mine.

A beautiful film about beautiful people living the elegant highlife, and proving that all the wealth and glamour in the world can’t create happiness.

This is one that always leaves me in a good mood when I’ve watched it. Funny, romantic and a good remake. Highly recommended if you haven’t seen it.

Please let me know your thoughts on the film if you have seen it.

 

 

3 thoughts on “High Society(1956)What A Swell Party This Is…”

  1. The Philadelphia Story is one of my all time favourite movies, I have a still from it on my wall, but the remake is mighty fine itself, The interaction between Sinatra and Bing is great, Celeste Holm is wonderful and Grace is truly stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

