Uncategorized

The Unpopular Film Opinion Tag

Catherine, over at Thoughtsallsorts has tagged me for this. I appreciate the tag, and many thanks for this.  This tag was started by Richard, over at TheHumpoShow .

The Rules

1 – Pick 3 films that are well liked by most people, except by you.
2 – Tag 5 or more people to get involved.
3 – Thank the person who tagged you.

Well, where (and how)do I start this?

1 – I’m a big fan of David Lean, but I cannot stand Doctor Zhivago! I like the visuals and the music but that is as far as my love for this one goes I’m afraid. For some reason most of the acting comes across as stiff to me and I just don’t care one bit about Zhivago and Lara. It seems really dull too, which I consider to be hugely unusual for a Lean film.

2-  I like Nicole Kidman, Hugh Jackman and Baz Luhrmann, but I felt that Australia was a mess! I think it tried to tackle too much instead of just focusing on a couple of things. While Nicole and Hugh have some lovely scenes I just can’t get emotionally invested in their characters or care when bad things happened to them. I so wanted to like this and I have tried to rewatch it several times. It still does nothing for me I’m afraid.

3- My third choice isn’t a film but a TV series. True Detective has talented stars, one of the best theme tunes in recent years, and some awesome photography. It had such potential, and I was so looking forward to it when it came out. I sadly had the opposite reaction to many viewers who praised it highly.  What we get is a convoluted plot that reaches David Lynch levels of weirdness. At first I was hooked, a few episodes in I had lost interest, by the end I was just open mouthed in disbelief and shaking my head in confusion.  My final verdict on this one? Plain weird!

I tag the following bloggers.

Charlene over at Charlene’smostlyclassicmoviereviews

Paul over at Pfeiffer Pfilms and Meg Movies

Fritzi over at Movies Silently

Virginie over at Thewonderfulworldofcinema

Janet over at Sister Celluloid

Please feel free to join in, even if you haven’t been tagged by anyone taking part. You can leave your answers here in the comments below, or you can write a post on your own site. Have fun!

 

29 thoughts on “The Unpopular Film Opinion Tag”

  1. What an interesting article! I have never heard of this before. I’m sure I could think of several films to qualify, since I usually fancy unpopular films and actors. I hope you get some interesting responses to your choices for others to write about similar films.

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tiffany. I hadn’t heard of this tag either until Catherine asked me to take part. Please feel free to share your own 3 choices (either on my site or your own.) It’s challenging coming up with films to pick that are so beloved by people. Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much. I have always wanted to be tagged in something. I know that I will love writing an article about this, since my sister and I have always loved hating certain films. I am going on a trip next week, so I probably won’t be able to write my article until the following week. Rest assured, however, that I will write it. Thank you again!

        Yours Hopefully,

        Tiffany Brannan

        Liked by 2 people

  2. 1. Not seen that film.
    2. I get that, I definitely wasn’t wowed by this one. The fact that I can’t remember much of the plot says it all about my thoughts on the film.
    3. I LOVED True Detective, maybe I am a fan of the weird!

    Thanks for joining it, you have a new follower 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Tbh the second season of True Detective was awful and I stopped watching halfway through.
        I’ll be sure to have a browse through your past reviews at some point 🙂

        Like

  3. Hi, Maddy! I agree with you on these picks, although I haven’t seen any of them. Dr. Zhivago looks depressing. I have never been a fan of Baz Luhrmann, except for that “Sunscreen” song. As for “True Detective”, there are so many detective and forensics shows on TV, one more isn’t going to make a big splash.

    Oh, and I hope Charlene doesn’t mind being double-tagged, lol. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey! I am just seeing this 🙂 I finally posted a new review this evening and am doing a bit of catch up! I certainly do not mind being double tagged and I will have a good think over the next day or so about which films to include!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow it’s lucky I was looking at your blog because I hadn’t receive any notification for the tag. And thanks btw! 🙂 This looks fun! I haven’t seen Australia, but honestly I’m really not attracted by it. Baz Luhrmann’s films are just too much for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

