Book Chat, Romance

Jane Eyre Discussion Part 1: The Novel

It’s time for some book chat. I’ve wanted to write about Jane Eyre for such a long time now. I love this novel so much, so I do hope you will indulge me as I first discuss the novel, and then in a future post as I write about my favourite screen adaptation of this classic.

For anyone out there who doesn’t know the story, here is a brief plot description. Jane Eyre is an orphan who is raised by her cruel aunt. Jane is sent to a boarding school that is so bad it is more like a prison. Jane overcomes her childhood horrors and becomes a governess. She is appointed governess to Adele, the young ward of Mr. Edward Rochester, the mysterious master of Thornfield Hall. Rochester falls in love with Jane and does all in his power to make her fall for him in return. Secrets and heartbreak await within the next pages.

Jane Eyre  (hereafter written as JE) was written by Charlotte Bronte, and was published in 1847. Charlotte and her sisters Anne and Emily wrote novels which continue to enthrall readers over a century after they were published.  JE in particular remains a beloved and much discussed classic novel. Why though does this story continue to delight readers today? Why is there still such an interest in this novel?

I think it remains so popular because it is about finding your soulmate. Jane and Rochester each find that special someone and are so close it’s like they are one. Even today we are still desperate to have a person like that in our lives, all desperate to be loved and accepted for who we are.

I’m sure it is so frequently discussed because there so much within it that is still worthy of discussion and debate. It deals with child abuse, with treatment of the mentally ill, with loneliness and despair, and it has good detail about what life at the time the novel was written was like. The relationship between Rochester and Jane is interesting too. Rochester plays with her emotions, he goes after what he wants (her as his love)and awakens her heart, desire and passion. Their connection is genuine, and even though it’s partly brought about through his control of the situation the connection isn’t there just because of that.

JE also shows us that true love is not about looks and sex, but about two souls and minds connecting. It lets us see that people should marry for love, not for money, or so they can bring two estates together. I think that so many of the themes and issues in this novel are still relevant in todays world.

I first read JE in my early teens and instantly fell in love with it. It has become a firm favourite, and it is a novel I can read again, and again and never get bored with. I connect with the lonely, damaged and passionate Jane. I pity and adore the brooding and desperate Rochester. I pity the extremely ill Bertha. I love the time taken to develop the relationship between Jane and Rochester. I smile at the antics of the adorable Adele, and of the loyal Mrs. Fairfax. I hate the selfish Blanche. I want to slap the evil and hypocritical Mr. Brocklehurst(what a loathsome creature he is!)I really feel the growing affection, friendship and romantic attachment between Jane and Rochester.

Photo0152

I also love this book for the old language. There are many words, objects and phrases etc that I was unfamiliar with before reading the novel. There inclusion in the novel lead me to go and research what they meant. There are some great words in it that you never hear used anymore, words such as physiognomy for example.

In so many screen adaptations of JE, these old words and way of speaking is not present, I think that’s a real shame as it’s not being true to the novel, or to the time period it is set in. My favourite screen adaptation retains the novels historical language though, something for which I will always be grateful.

If you have never read or watched Jane Eyre, please don’t read any further. Spoilers afoot!

Through her novel, Bronte gives us a window into her time, and also gives us a heroine who stays true to her principles, who is a strong, passionate and independent woman. Jane suffered unspeakable cruelty and injustice in her childhood, she did not let that break or define her though. Jane is admirable for being able to move above and past the horrors of her childhood. She is a shy, gentle and passionate woman who wants to be accepted for her mind and soul, not for money or appearance. Society (even today)places too much importance on looks and status, it is the person inside and our actions that should count most in this world. This novel tackles these issues at a time when they were of paramount importance to all who lived.

The character best remembered from this story by most people, is the brooding master of Thornfield Hall, one Mr. Rochester. Like Jane, Rochester had a deeply unhappy childhood, he wants true love and contentment more than anything else in this world. Despite his marriage to Bertha, Rochester wants Jane, he needs her and wants (and deserves)his own happiness too. Some will judge him harshly for wanting to marry a woman despite already being married.

I don’t hate Rochester for that, on the contrary, I pity him and respect him. We see he was not cruel to Bertha, he looked after her. He could have just shipped her off to the nearest asylum and dumped her there, but he didn’t. Between him and Grace caring for her she was well looked after, and was treated with compassion and as much dignity as possible.

At the asylum Bertha no doubt would have been badly treated and been scared. So he gets all my respect for keeping her at home. Secondly Bertha was raving mad, Rochester was told nothing of this when his marriage to her was arranged. How would you react and feel if you were him? He lives a pretty depressing life for years, until the kind, pure and fresh Jane comes into his life. Here is the wife he should have had.

I see no problem with him taking Jane as his wife because why should he remain married to someone who wasn’t even aware of his existence? At least he didn’t try and take Jane as his mistress, he was all set to marry her until Mason showed up. I’m pretty shocked that you couldn’t divorce due to mental illness in those days. I understand the “in sickness and in health”vow, but I think that should only apply if something develops during the marriage, Bertha had a pre-existing condition that was kept from Rochester who quickly discovered the truth shortly after the marriage. Why should he have to stay married in that instance?

I’m in two minds about Jane’s reaction when she learns the truth. I get that her religious/moral convictions made her think she had no choice but to leave and not stay and marry him. On the other hand why couldn’t she see what I said earlier? It’s not like he was cheating on his wife, she was his wife in name only anyway, they were not intimate either emotionally or physically. So where is the harm in staying with him?

I’ve read this again recently and picked up on something I never noticed before. It seems like Jane only gives herself one hundred percent to Rochester when he is no longer in control of their situation. At the end he is a blind cripple, he no longer has any dominance in their relationship. He had experience in physical love and matters of the heart and he played with her early in the story due to her inexperience in these things. Now he cannot see her reactions to (say a kiss they share, or how she reacts on their wedding night.) To me it’s like she didn’t like to be seen (at times) and now he can’t see her she comes to him. He can no longer be in control of their intimate moments the way he is at the end ( I know later he regains eyesight.) This doesn’t take anything away from this romantic story, but it does add an aspect to think about. Has anyone else noticed this?

In short, JE is a novel that I never get bored of returning to. It’s well written, descriptive, vivid and moves me so much. Bronte’s characters are as interesting and alive today, as they were when they first appeared in 1847.

In my next post I will share my favourite screen adaptation of the novel.

What are your thoughts on the novel? I welcome you comments and thoughts on my observations and views of Bronte’s story. Please leave your comments below.

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Jane Eyre Discussion Part 1: The Novel”

  1. Hi Maddy
    You should get a lot of responses about this topic. 😊 This book, and movies, was my favorite romantic story for years. The book portrayed their characters more realistically and I think lighter too then the film versions do. Rodchester is the Alpha male who knows what he wants and will take it and the rest of the world can be damn.
    He lied and would have married Jane under a falsehood. It was wrong.
    I was glad he suffered when she left him. I just wish she had not suffered so too. Deceitfulness is a major theme as a well as love throughout this story. Jane is accused of being a liar, her Aunt lies about her and confesses to her on her deathbed, and Brockahurst is a liar too.
    Jane’s life has been a misery due to lies and yet she in falls in love with a man who she trusts and whose lies hurt her the most. The fact she still loved the liar, proved the adage that love conquers all.
    I love ill always love this Bronte story because as you mentioned before, it covers so many themes ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Katrina. I’m looking forward to the responses on this one. You are right, it seems like she is surrounded by liars throughout the novel. Rochester also is, in that he was never told about Bertha. Blanche also lies making out that she loves him, when she only wants his money and status. Jane and Rochester are like two halves of the same soul, both damaged, gentle souls who want to be loved for themselves. They had quite a rocky road to travel, but in the end they found happiness with one another. You are spot on about love conquering all.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah Maddy…it is stunning…I couldn’t pick up another book for at least 2 weeks because I felt like a traitor reading anything else. If you do get to it, just persevere past page 60 or so, thereafter you won’t manage to put it down. I couldn’t even stop the day of my 10th wedding anniversary…that’s how good it is.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was one of my first favorite “classics”, so I’m quite please that you focused on it today. It appears that we both enjoy the book for many of the same reasons. Trivia: In the 8th grade, we had to do projects based on the books we had been assigned in Literature class. I chose one wherein I had to rewrite the book (understandably condensed somewhat) in the form of Jane’s personal diary. It was a challenge, but it was great fun…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a great read, and I agree with your thoughts and feelings on this one. For me, I like that kind of a “mind” game going on between Jane and Rochester, the way Rochester thinks he can see through Jane, and for Jane sometimes Rochester is a bit of a mystery. Very romantic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I love the mind games he plays with her too,and in a way with those games he is teaching her all about love. There is jealousy and desire as well as hand holding and smiles. I love when he says “You never felt jealousy did you, Miss Eyre? Of course not, you never felt love” That about sums it all up LOL. I can reread or rewatch all the scenes between Rochester and Jane and still be moved and fascinated by their conversations and situation.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I may lean towards the side about judging Mr.Rochester harshly lol. I’ve actually started rereading Jane Eyre and I’m up to the part where she is contemplating what to do next because she has grown tired of her routine life at Lowood. I really appreciate how we are carried through her thought process but the moment she decides to advertise, I find myself mentally yelling, “No, no don’t do it!” She seemed so excited to find opportunity out there.
    A question came to my mind: Do you think Mr. Rochester hired a governess with the intention of winning any young woman’s affection? Jane is very intelligent women but is very naive to the world around her. All she knows is what is enclosed in Lowood: rules, duties, the same faces. She’s never related to any man before Rochester. He seems like a lonely man who’s seen a lot in his life perhaps her naivety is what draws him even further to Jane. These are just my initial thoughts, I have yet to continue reading and change my thoughts.

    Like

  5. I’ve also heard that Mr. Rochester regaining his sight at the end kind of leaves us with the curiosity of what happens when he does gain his sight, will be gain power over her? I find it interesting that you pose that question.

    Like

Leave a Reply

